Trine podcast discusses Fermat’s Last Theorem

October 03, 2022

VasaturoOne of the world’s most famous mathematical theorems and once recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the world’s most difficult math problem, Fermat’s Last Theorem eluded proof for more than 350 years.

In the newest episode of the Trine University’s Faculty Focus podcast, Anthony Vasaturo, Ph.D., assistant professor of mathematics at the university, discusses the theorem, its importance to mathematical theory and why it was so hard to prove.

Vasaturo also discusses his personal interest in Fermat’s Last Theorem, his own series of talks about the theorem on YouTube, and other theorems that continue to challenge mathematicians.

Produced through the Trine Broadcasting Network, the Faculty Focus podcast features interviews with Trine University faculty members about current research and/or topics of interest to the community at large. Hosted by James Tew, assistant vice president of content and communications, the podcast is available at as well as on platforms such as Spotify, iTunes, Google Play and Stitcher.

Last Updated: 10/03/2022

News Information

News Story Type

News Story


Read More

All News
Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).