Trine bridge team places 9th in online tournament

April 09, 2022

The Trine Thunder Aces, the bridge team at Trine University, competed in the American Contract Bridge League (ACBL) online collegiate tournament on April 3.

Trine finished ninth out of 17 teams.

Team members were Lucas Jackson, a senior civil engineering major from Valparaiso, Indiana; Cameron Orr, an MBA student from Angola, Indiana; Keely Brooks, a junior chemical engineering major from Van Buren, Ohio; and Ryan Hoak, a freshman civil engineering major from Warsaw, Indiana. Retired faculty member Chet Pinkham serves as advisor.

Teams played eight matches of six hands, with each match lasting about an hour.

Trine defeated Northwestern 14-6 in the first round and Brown 17-3 in the second. In subsequent rounds, which were matched based on the total number of points scored in prior rounds, the scores were:

  • UC-Berkeley 19, Trine 1
  • Washington (St. Louis) 19, Trine 1
  • Yale 17, Trine 3
  • Trine 10, Carleton 10
  • Trine 17, Vanderbilt 3

“I know we got our hopes up after the first two games, but I think ninth out of 17 is pretty good,” said Orr.

Last Updated: 04/05/2022

Read More

All News
Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).