Trine triathlon team honored as Scholar All-Americans

April 05, 2019

Trine University’s 2018 women’s triathlon team and its members were recently honored as Scholar All-Americans by the College Triathlon Coaches Association.

Pictured, from left, are Cate Porter of Angola, Indiana; Montana Hermann of Auburn, Indiana; Katie Kline of Kendallville, Indiana; Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., Trine president; Coach Danny Powell; and Kyra Warren of Kendallville, Indiana.

Team honors were awarded to the squads with the top five highest GPAs, based on complete team roster, among all varsity women’s collegiate triathlon programs. Trine’s team, with a 3.645 average GPA, was the only NCAA Division III recognized.

Individual Scholar All-American honors were awarded to varsity athletes who competed in the National Championship and maintained a GPA of 3.5 or better throughout the fall semester of competition. Honorable mention was awarded to varsity athletes who competed in at least one 2018 Women’s Collegiate Triathlon Regional Qualifier, but not the National Championships, and maintained a GPA of 3.5 or better throughout the 2018 fall semester of competition.

Photo by Dean Orewiler

News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).