Professionals gather to advise Trine's criminal justice program

December 17, 2018

On Nov. 29, criminal justice professionals from the surrounding Indiana and Michigan areas met with Trine University criminal justice educators to discuss opportunities for enhancing the university’s criminal justice programs. Jackie Delagrange, senior director of the Graduate School, Brittni Heiden, director of the Trine Fort Wayne Education Center, and Cisco Ortiz, chair of the Criminal Justice Department on Trine’s main campus, joined together to host the event, held in the Fred Zollner Athletic Stadium hospitality suite. 

The meeting was the inaugural meeting for the Trine University Criminal Justice Professional Advisory Board, which will serve the undergraduate and graduate criminal justice programs for all campuses. The professional attendees were informed of the programs’ goals and curricula currently offered to undergraduate and graduate students. The educators asked for feedback from the professionals in regards to the “needs of the field” that are identified as vital for entry-level candidates. Coursework, internships, out-of-classroom experiences and research opportunities were discussed as topics to explore and assess. Many attendees identified the need for communication skills (written and oral) and the need for strong work ethics as top priorities. The next meeting will be scheduled for some time in the spring. Other field professionals who were invited, but not able to attend, will be involved via electronic communication and hope to attend the spring meeting. 

Attending Members:

**denotes Tri-State/Trine University alumnus

  • Honorable William Fee, Judge—Steuben Superior Court
  • Rodney Robinson, Chief Deputy/Sheriff-Elect—Steuben County Sheriff’s Office
  • Stu Hamblen, Chief of Police—Angola Police Department
  • **AJ Pape, Sergeant/Personnel Director—Allen County Sheriff’s Department
  • Jim Price, Conservation officer—Indiana DNR
  • **Katie Thomas, Patrol Officer—Fort Wayne PD
  • Jeremy Musser, Prosecuting Attorney—Steuben County Prosecutor’s Office
  • April Winfield, Chief Probation Officer—Allen County Juvenile Probation
  • **Bonijene Gebert, Probation Officer—Steuben County Probation
  • Bill Wilson, Jail Services Coordinator—Indiana Sheriff’s Association
  • **Marc Edwards, Jail Sergeant—Steuben County Sheriff’s Office
  • **Chris Anderson, Asst. Prosecuting Attorney—Eaton County, Michigan, Prosecutor’s Office
  • **Jeff Dolson, Sergeant—Indiana State Police
  • **Darrin Taylor, Patrol Officer/Detective—Angola Police Department
  • **Kyle Hodges, Sergeant—Speedway Police Department

 Non-Attending Members:

  • Eric Zimmerman, Director of Court Services/Chief Probation Officer—Allen County Circuit Court/Allen County Adult Probation
  • **Adam Kitson, Trooper—Indiana State Police
  • **Andrew O’Conner, Sergeant—Parkview Police Department
  • Jaime Klopfenstein, Probation/Pre-Trial Services Officer—US Probation/Pre-Trial Services—Northern Indiana District
  • Keith Hefner, Director—Trine University Campus Safety
  • Honorable Kirk Kashian, Judge—Branch County Probate Court/Juvenile Division


News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).