Trine adds 3 individuals, 2 teams to Athletic Hall of Fame

October 08, 2018

Trine University inducted three individuals and two teams into its Athletic Hall of Fame during the university’s annual Touchstone and Homecoming Celebration Dinner on Oct. 5.

DuvallThe most decorated women’s golfer in university history, Molly (Weissert) Duvall was a medalist in many tournaments and earned NAIA All-American honors in 1999, 2000 and 2002, and NAIA All-American Honorable Mention in 2001. Her senior year, she shot a 76 in the final round of the NAIA Women’s Golf Championship, tying for the best round of the day and for 10th overall in the tournament. She also excelled in the classroom, receiving the Dean’s and SanGiacomo scholarships, and served as president of the Kappa Sigma Alpha sorority, a student advisory board member, and a mentor. She graduated in 2002 with a degree in golf management and marketing, and today lives with her husband Brian in Indio, California, working as a sales executive for Marriott International.

LarsonElias Larson, competing at 157 pounds, left Trine University as the most decorated wrestler in its history, earning NCAA Division III All-American honors along with many other awards from 2011 through 2013. The two-year captain was ranked No. 1 nationally in his weight class and finished in the top 10 nationally for most pins in Division III in 2012. Larson holds Trine University records for most wins overall and in a season, and is among the top five in several other categories. He graduated cum laude in 2013 with a mechanical engineering degree and currently resides in Orland Park, Illinois, working as a patent attorney for Lempia Summerfield Katz, LLC.

JacksonA dynamic threat on each end of the basketball court, Ian Jackson was a three-time first team all-conference selection. In 2013, he earned 3rd Team all-American Honors and MIAA Conference MVP, and was conference player of the week seven times over his career. His top-ten records for Trine men’s basketball include sixth in points, fourth in scoring average, fifth in field goals attempted, sixth in field goals made and fourth in most games started. He also holds seventh place in MIAA career scoring in MIAA contests. Off the field, he was a member of Trine’s Multicultural Student Organization. The 2013 business graduate currently resides in Burbank, California, and is a partner in his family’s entertainment business as well as a personal fitness trainer. 

During the 1996-97 season, the Tri-State women’s basketball team had one of the most successful runs in program history. Finishing 24-6, the team earned a conference championship and conference tournament championship. Going all the way to the Sweet 16, the team ranked as high as fourth in the country. Team members received national awards including two NAIA All-Americans, the NAIA National Leadership Award winner, three NAIA Scholar Athletes, and WBCA-NAIA National Coach of the Year.  Conference honors included five Academic All-Conference players, Coach of the Year, two All-Conference players and one player named to the All-Conference Defensive Team. This talented team consisted of four 1,000 career point scorers, and many individuals in Trine University’s women’s basketball record books.

footballIn 2008, the Trine University football team launched the era of Thunder football. The team finished 10-1, undefeated in conference for the first time in school history. The 2008 team still holds the MIAA conference record for best rushing defense, and Trine season records for forced fumbles, lowest opponent rushing yards, fewest touchdowns allowed, lowest opponent average yards per rush and lowest opponent average yards per game. It also holds single-game records for sacks, tackles for a loss, forced fumbles and fumbles recovered. Individual honors included Courtney Pearson earning 3rd team All-American, all-region team and MIAA Defensive MVP awards, 10 players earning first-team All-MIAA honors, and six earning second team honors. Coach Matt Land was named Regional Coach of the Year. 

Photos: Top, members of the 1996-97 Tri-State University women's basketball team accept a plaque commemorating the team's induction into the Trine University Athletic Hall of Fame. At left is Trine President Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., and at right is Matt Land, assistant vice president for athletics. Top right, Molly Duvall, center, receives a plaque commemorating her induction into the Trine University Athletic Hall of Fame from Land, left, and Brooks. Middle right:  Elias Larson, center, receives a plaque commemorating his induction into the Trine University Athletic Hall of Fame from Land, left, and Brooks. Lower right:  Ian Jackson, center, receives a plaque commemorating his induction into the Trine University Athletic Hall of Fame from Land, left, and Brooks. Bottom right: The captains of the 2008 Trine University football team, Sam Hartman, second from left, and Nate Fitzsimmons, third from left, accept a plaque commemorating the team's induction into the Trine University Athletic Hall of Fame from Brooks, left, and Land.

News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).