Trine faculty honored at awards ceremony

October 19, 2017

FORT WAYNE – Four Trine University faculty members were honored with 2017 Education Awards from Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly on Wednesday, Oct. 18.

Pictured are, from left, James Canino, Ph.D., associate professor in the Wade Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, who was was named the winner of the IPFW Emerging Star Award; John Milliken, J.D., professor in the Department of Criminal Justice, Psychology and Social Services and assistant vice president for academic services, named the winner of the IPFW Leadership Award for Higher Education; Mark Kays, director of instrumental music, named Music Teacher of the Year; and Bill Maddock, associate professor in the Ketner School of Business, named for Teaching Excellence in Sports.

The educators were honored at a special awards dinner at the Allen County Memorial Coliseum Conference Center. The awards recognize outstanding teachers in northeast Indiana who engage and inspire their students individually and as a group encouraging lifelong learning.

A photo gallery from the event is on the Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly website.

News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).