More than 200 math students compete at Trine

January 30, 2017

WangA record number of students participated in the 42nd Annual High School Mathematics Competition held at Trine University on Wednesday, Jan. 25.

Five of the 213 students who competed were awarded scholarships to Trine, and three teachers received cash prizes.

A total of 53 teams representing 23 high schools in Indiana, Michigan and Ohio participated in the event. Of the students who participated, 106 competed in advanced mathematics and 107 competed in elementary mathematics.

The competition consisted of individual and team competitions for students, with first through third places recognized in both categories. Awards also were given to the teachers of the top three teams.

Team winners were:

First place – James Dugle, Bradley Petrofsky, Avery Mantyla and Wilson Wang from Northridge High School in Middlebury, Indiana. Each student was awarded a $3,000 scholarship to Trine. Teachers Sam Powell, Tracy Wogoman and Trisha King shared a $1,000 award.

Second place – Ruiqi (Jennifer) Wang, Reed Oei, Xing (Leslie) Lin and Tomas Aquilar-Fraga from St. Joseph High School in South Bend, Indiana. Teacher Brett Goodrich was awarded $500.

Third place – Truman Bennet, Elizabeth Wuertley, Zoe Orrell and Hunter Durbin from Marion High School in Marion, Indiana. Teacher Doug Porter was awarded $250.

Individual winners were:

First place for individual elementary – Wilson Wang from Northridge High School.

First place for individual advanced – Ruiqi (Jennifer) Wang from St. Joseph High School. She was awarded a $5,000 scholarship to Trine.

Second place for individual elementary – Avery Mantyla from Northridge High School.

Second place for individual advanced – Reed Oei from St. Joseph High School.

Third place for individual elementary – Kyler Bartol from Warsaw Community High School in Warsaw, Indiana.

Third place for individual advanced – Elizabeth Wuertley from Marion High School.

News Information

Read More

All News