Family gathers to establish Larson scholarship

June 13, 2016

Larson family

The family of Wayne H. and Kathleen E. Larson gathered Friday at Trine University to contribute funds to establish an endowed scholarship in their parents’ honor.

The Wayne H. and Kathleen E. Larson Endowed Scholarship Fund will provide scholarships each year for one or more Trine University students.

Both Wayne and Kathleen Larson were Steuben County natives. Wayne, who passed away Nov. 2, 2015, graduated from Tri-State College, the forerunner of Trine University, in 1951 with a bachelor of science in business administration degree. He served on Trine’s board of trustees from 1981 to 1993.

“Wayne and Kathleen were longtime generous supporters of Trine University, and it is fitting that their legacy will continue to impact the lives of Trine students through the Wayne H. and Kathleen E. Larson Endowed Scholarship Fund,” said Earl D. Brooks II, Ph.D., Trine president.

Wayne was the head of the WH Larson Insurance Agency in Pasadena, California. At one time Wayne, Kathleen and their eight children all worked for the company.

Kathleen Larson passed away April 12, 2013.

News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).