Mabie receives Hershey scholarship

November 09, 2016

MabieCole Mabie, a Trine University junior from Plainwell, Michigan, was honored as the 2016 recipient of the General Lewis B. Hershey Scholarship during halftime of Saturday’s football game against Alma.

The General Lewis B. Hershey Scholarship was established in 1988 by Army, Navy and Air Force veterans in the United States and Canada to honor Gen. Lewis B. Hershey, a Tri-State College (now Trine University) alumnus and former Director of Selective Service for the United States. Hershey Hall, the Trine University fieldhouse, is named in his honor.

The scholarship is awarded each year to a Trine University sophomore or junior who has demonstrated academic achievement, with a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.0, and leadership potential.

Mabie is the son of Alan and Christine Mabie and a graduate of Delton-Kellogg High School in Delton, Michigan. He is majoring in mathematics and is a member of the soccer team, honors program, Kappa Sigma fraternity and Ketner Fellows. He also serves as president of Trine’s math club and has been named to the MIAA Academic Honor Roll.

News Information

Read More

All News
Center for Sports Studies

Trine podcast discusses coaching youth

March 2, 2023

A longtime area high school baseball coach and educator discusses the coaching profession and strategies for effectively leading youth in the newest episode of Trine University’s Center for Sports Studies podcast.

Cat Benson PGA

Benson named Indiana PGA president

March 2, 2023

Cat Benson, dean of Trine University’s Ketner School of Business and director of its golf management program, was elected the first female president of the Indiana Section PGA on Monday, Feb. 27.

Bethany Schmitt

Trine student honored at ‘Realizing the Dream’

March 1, 2023

INDIANAPOLIS — Bethany Morgan Schmitt, a Trine University sophomore from Fort Wayne, Indiana, majoring in exercise science/pre-physical therapy, was one of 29 first-generation Indiana college students named as a “Realizing the Dream” recipient by the Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).