2022 Winners

Congratulations to the following authors on penning this year's winning submissions:

Academic Writing:

2nd Place: Parker Tillmon for "A Deeper Look at Nuclear Forensic Chemistry"
Honorable Mention/Student Choice Award: Kyle Dixon for "Sensationalism and Crime in 19th Century America"


1st Place/Student Choice Award: Jason Branch for "Perfect Victim"
2nd Place: Reese Greene for "Move"
3rd Place: Meghan Schrader for "Earthen Woman"
Honorable Mention: Blake Williams for "The Summer of Love"

Creative Nonfiction:

1st Place: Upasana Shrestha for "Aliens in America"
2nd Place/Student Choice Award: Meghan Schrader for "Ode to the College Kid: Is This What They Meant by ‘Youth’?"
3rd Place: Eden Diller for "Time Dependence"


1st Place: Muriel Mackie for "lovely as the day is long"
2nd Place: Travis Mersing for "The Village of Abernathy"
3rd Place: Parker Tillmon for "your love gave me flowers"
Honorable Mention: Blake Williams for "Factory #234"
Student Choice Award: Presley Wollan for "on death and dying"

This year's winning submissions are also available for purchase in a bound book, created and edited by the Writing Cente, for $10 while supplies last.

Please contact Dr. Janelle Pulczinski at pulczinski@trine.edu for information on the competition or to order your copy of these wonderful examples of creativity and scholarship today!